Training Stalled.

Just when I thought I was getting back on track… This happened: Image Not once, not twice, but three times. While I thought I was starting to get better, my body had different plans. Turns out my antibiotics weren’t frequent enough, giving whatever I have the opportunity to fester. I ended up in the ER on Saturday to get a whooping dose of antibiotics and a CAT scan and left with instructions to come back if it got worse.

As my luck would have it, it got worse. Sunday rolls around and my fever spiked as high as 104 and it was time to get back to the ER. Thank you to my wonderful boyfriend for taking such good care of me this weekend. You made my life a whole lot easier. This time I had the choice to be admitted since my antibiotics weren’t working or try one last ditch effort of steroids and new antibiotics.

Now I hate IVs dating back to a surgery that had me going through 5-6 IVs in 3.5 days. But, I LOVE my bed. My bed won out. I mean, really, who wants to stay overnight in a hospital? Not this girl. With the promise that I would come back in morning to make sure I was improving, I was sent home.

My luck turned around Monday, and I am now on the mend with no fever or chills in sight. The swelling in my neck has gone down quite a bit, but I’m not allowed to run until this goes away.

Where does this leave my training? In a state of limbo. I’m really nervous about not being able to run, but I know my body and I barely made it through the work day as it was. Hopefully, now that I’m on stronger antibiotics, this thing will clear up quickly.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

