Wine and Dine Threepeat and other races

Holy cow! Disney’s Wine and Dine Half Marathon filled up FAST. I don’t think I’ve seen it full up this fast before, but, quite frankly, I’m not surprised. Disney races have gained popularity and the Wine and Dine is hard to beat. Who doesn’t love a late night race (am I the only one who loves a good late night race?) that ends with all the food and beverages you can imagine. I know I like to celebrate with the Kalua Pork Bun from Hawaii and a glass of champs. Nommity noms. This will be my third running of the race and I’m pretty excited. 

WineDinecollagerace

Flashback to Wine and Dine 2013

Luckily, I saw the RunDisney tweet about registration opening and I kept my eye on that quickly growing percentage. Last year, I signed up in May, this year I acted quickly to sign up at lunch today. The day after it opened! Wowzers. I’ve convinced Charlie to run it with me again. Maybe this year I can get him to train for it?

 

The other race I recently–several weeks ago–signed up for is the Lululemon Seawheeze in Vancouver! As I mentioned, this is the year of the half marathon for me, and Seawheeze will mark my first west coast half. I’ll be joined by my best friend, Chelsea, so we can have a reunion revolving around running, yoga, and seafood! I can’t wait to try Pacific salmon. You may have noticed that these races are both in the fall. Yes, I’ve set myself up for summer training again. While I’m not thrilled with the idea of getting up before the sun rises to get my miles in, I’m planning to build a solid base to help with that.

The temperatures are already starting to pick up here in Southwest Florida and Spring training has only just begun! Does anyone have suggestions for making hot, humid runs more enjoyable? I’d love to hear your tips. 

 

2 thoughts on “Wine and Dine Threepeat and other races

  1. Can’t wait for Seawheeze too!! Keep up the good work. It’s going to be a new year, and a new, healthier you. As far as running in the humidity – early morning runs and sweaty, knotty hair is the only way to handle the situation!

Leave a Reply

